Meret Lüthi

Artistic Director - Dramaturge - ConcertmasterMeret Lüthi

Meret Lüthi, an inspiring and charismatic violinist from Berne, knows how to cast a musical and verbal spell over her fellow musicians and the audience. Since 2008, she has been shaping Bern’s internationally active Orchestra for Early Music, Les Passions de l'Âme, with her unmistakable signature as artistic director, dramaturge and concertmaster. She appears with her orchestra at the Lucerne Festival, the Tage Alter Musik Regensburg, the Schwetzinger Festspiele and the Musikfest Stuttgart. She performs with artists such as Dorothee Oberlinger, Simone Kermes, Nuria Rial and Kristian Bezuidenhout.

Meret Lüthi received her training in her hometown with the violinists Monika Urbaniak-Lisik and Eva Zurbrügg and obtained both teaching and concert diplomas with distinctions. Her string quartet studies took her to Basel to Walter Levin, and she studied baroque violin with Anton Steck in Trossingen.

As a sought-after specialist in early music, Meret Lüthi is a regular guest on Radio SRF 2 Kultur and teaches baroque violin and historically informed performance practice at the Bern University of the Arts. In 2017 she was awarded the Music Prize of the Canton of Bern and in 2020 the Culture Prize of the Bürgi-Willert Foundation for her many years of outstanding musical activities. Her artistic work is documented on Sony Music Switzerland, Ramée and Dynamic, and was awarded the Diapason d'or in 2013 and 2017 as well as an OPUS KLASSIK and Premio Abbiati in 2020.

Press quotes:

Bachtrack (Jens Klier) 19.09.2020

«...in the «Schutzengel (guardian angel)»-Passacaglia from the Rosary Sonatas, Lüthi [entered] the culminating soloistic climax. Eyes closed (as well as those of her ensemble colleagues), she led us all with her into the prayer which, in its masterful sense of inner impulse, harrowing emotionality and magnificent miraculous power, blurred the senses.»

Toccata (Wolfgang Reihing) July/August 2020

«The pulsating centre of this recording is once again the ensemble leader and baroque violinist Meret Lüthi, who here effortlessly combines virtuoso (secular) and spiritual (sacred) aspects of this music with a pithy tone and sparkling temperament.»

WDR3 (Jan Ritterstaedt) 21.07.2020

«Impressively and with great technical precision, soloist Meret Lüthi lets the arrows whirr on her period violin.»

BR Klassik (Thorsten Preuß) 15.09.2019

«And she [Meret Lüthi] is probably the most exciting baroque violinist of the present [...] When Meret Lüthi meets Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber, then the sparks fly.»

SWR2 about: Meret Lüthi, 29.09.2019

«Meret Lüthi is a creativity junkie, always struggling for the personal expression of her truth. The front woman of the Bernese baroque ensemble Les Passions de l'Âme, which she co-founded in 2007, captivates audiences with her energetic and fresh drive.»

Stuttgarter Nachrichten (Susanne Benda) 06.09.2018

«...Treats from the delicatessen department of historically informed performance practice: with a brilliant, immensely sound-sensitive and also eminently nimble concertmaster Meret Lüthi...»

kulturtipp (Christian Berzins) 20.08. 2014

«Violinist Meret Lüthi is the head of the fabulous Bernese baroque orchestra Les Passions de l'Âme, which is causing a sensation. From Berne, she is conquering the wide baroque world.»

Meret Lüthi

Directrice artistique · Dramaturge · Premier violon soloMeret Lüthi

La violoniste bernoise Meret Lüthi, inspirante et charismatique, possède le don d’envoûter musicalement et verbalement ses collègues musicien:nes et le public. Depuis 2008, en tant que directrice artistique, dramaturge et premier violon solo, elle applique sa signature caractéristique aux destinées de l'Orchestre de musique ancienne de Berne, Les Passions de l'Âme, actif au niveau international. Avec son orchestre, elle participe entre autres au Festival de Lucerne, au Tage Alter Musik Regensburg, au Schwetzinger Festspiele et au Musikfest Stuttgart. Elle se produit avec des artistes tels que Dorothee Oberlinger, Simone Kermes, Nuria Rial et Kristian Bezuidenhout.

Meret Lüthi a reçu sa formation dans sa ville natale auprès des violonistes Monika Urbaniak-Lisik et Eva Zurbrügg et a obtenu les diplômes d'enseignement et de concert avec distinctions. Ses études de quatuor à cordes l'ont conduite à Bâle chez Walter Levin, et elle a étudié le violon baroque avec Anton Steck à Trossingen.

Spécialiste recherchée de la musique ancienne, Meret Lüthi est régulièrement invitée sur la radio SRF 2 Kultur et enseigne le violon baroque et la pratique d'interprétation historiquement informée à la Haute école des arts de Berne. En 2017, elle a reçu le Prix de musique du canton de Berne et en 2020 le Prix de la culture de la Fondation Bürgi-Willert pour son activité musicale exceptionnelle depuis de nombreuses années. Son œuvre artistique est documentée sur Sony Music Switzerland, Ramée et Dynamic, et a obtenu le Diapason d'or en 2013 et 2017 ainsi qu’un OPUS KLASSIK et Premio Abbiati en 2020.

La presse en parle :

Bachtrack (Jens Klier) 19.09.2020

« ...Lüthi [est entrée] dans le point culminant solistique de la Passacaille « Ange Gardien » des Sonates du Rosaire. Les yeux fermés et ceux de ses collègues de l'ensemble, elle nous a tous emmenés avec elle dans cette prière dont la magistrale impulsion intérieure, l'émotivité déchirante et la magnifique puissance miraculeuse ont troublé les sens. »

Toccata (Wolfgang Reihing) juillet/août 2020

« Le centre palpitant de cet enregistrement est une fois de plus le leader de l'ensemble et violoniste baroque Meret Lüthi, qui combine ici sans effort les aspects virtuoses (profanes) et spirituels (sacrés) de cette musique avec un ton piquant et un tempérament pétillant. »

WDR3 (Jan Ritterstaedt) 21.07.2020

« Impressionnante et d'une grande précision technique, la soliste Meret Lüthi laisse vrombir les flèches sur son violon historique. »

BR Klassik (Thorsten Preuß) 15.09.2019

« Et elle [Meret Lüthi] est probablement la violoniste baroque la plus passionnante du moment [...] Quand Meret Lüthi rencontre Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber, les étincelles jaillissent. »

SWR2 29.09.2019

« Meret Lüthi est une accro de la créativité, qui lutte toujours pour l'expression personnelle de sa vérité. La leader de l'ensemble baroque bernois Les Passions de l'Âme, qu'elle a cofondé en 2007, captive le public par son dynamisme et sa fraîcheur. »

Stuttgarter Nachrichten (Susanne Benda) 06.09.2018

« ...un régal en direct du rayon des délicatesses de la pratique historiquement informée d'interprétation musicale : avec un brillant violon solo, immensément sensible au son et aussi éminemment agile, Meret Lüthi... »

kulturtipp (Christian Berzins) 20.08. 2014

« La violoniste Meret Lüthi est à la tête du fabuleux orchestre baroque bernois Les Passions de l'Âme, qui fait sensation. Elle conquiert le vaste monde baroque depuis Berne. »