Meret Lüthi

Artistic Director - Dramaturge - ConcertmasterMeret Lüthi

Meret Lüthi, an inspiring and charismatic violinist from Berne, knows how to cast a musical and verbal spell over her fellow musicians and the audience. Since 2008, she has been shaping Bern’s internationally active Orchestra for Early Music, Les Passions de l'Âme, with her unmistakable signature as artistic director, dramaturge and concertmaster. She appears with her orchestra at the Lucerne Festival, the Tage Alter Musik Regensburg, the Schwetzinger Festspiele and the Musikfest Stuttgart. She performs with artists such as Dorothee Oberlinger, Simone Kermes, Nuria Rial and Kristian Bezuidenhout.

Meret Lüthi received her training in her hometown with the violinists Monika Urbaniak-Lisik and Eva Zurbrügg and obtained both teaching and concert diplomas with distinctions. Her string quartet studies took her to Basel to Walter Levin, and she studied baroque violin with Anton Steck in Trossingen.

As a sought-after specialist in early music, Meret Lüthi is a regular guest on Radio SRF 2 Kultur and teaches baroque violin and historically informed performance practice at the Bern University of the Arts. In 2017 she was awarded the Music Prize of the Canton of Bern and in 2020 the Culture Prize of the Bürgi-Willert Foundation for her many years of outstanding musical activities. Her artistic work is documented on Sony Music Switzerland, Ramée and Dynamic, and was awarded the Diapason d'or in 2013 and 2017 as well as an OPUS KLASSIK and Premio Abbiati in 2020.

Press quotes:

Bachtrack (Jens Klier) 19.09.2020

«...in the «Schutzengel (guardian angel)»-Passacaglia from the Rosary Sonatas, Lüthi [entered] the culminating soloistic climax. Eyes closed (as well as those of her ensemble colleagues), she led us all with her into the prayer which, in its masterful sense of inner impulse, harrowing emotionality and magnificent miraculous power, blurred the senses.»

Toccata (Wolfgang Reihing) July/August 2020

«The pulsating centre of this recording is once again the ensemble leader and baroque violinist Meret Lüthi, who here effortlessly combines virtuoso (secular) and spiritual (sacred) aspects of this music with a pithy tone and sparkling temperament.»

WDR3 (Jan Ritterstaedt) 21.07.2020

«Impressively and with great technical precision, soloist Meret Lüthi lets the arrows whirr on her period violin.»

BR Klassik (Thorsten Preuß) 15.09.2019

«And she [Meret Lüthi] is probably the most exciting baroque violinist of the present [...] When Meret Lüthi meets Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber, then the sparks fly.»

SWR2 about: Meret Lüthi, 29.09.2019

«Meret Lüthi is a creativity junkie, always struggling for the personal expression of her truth. The front woman of the Bernese baroque ensemble Les Passions de l'Âme, which she co-founded in 2007, captivates audiences with her energetic and fresh drive.»

Stuttgarter Nachrichten (Susanne Benda) 06.09.2018

«...Treats from the delicatessen department of historically informed performance practice: with a brilliant, immensely sound-sensitive and also eminently nimble concertmaster Meret Lüthi...»

kulturtipp (Christian Berzins) 20.08. 2014

«Violinist Meret Lüthi is the head of the fabulous Bernese baroque orchestra Les Passions de l'Âme, which is causing a sensation. From Berne, she is conquering the wide baroque world.»

Meret Lüthi

Künstlerische Leiterin · Dramaturgin · KonzertmeisterinMeret Lüthi

Die Bernerin Meret Lüthi, eine begeisternde und charismatische Violinistin, versteht es, Mitmusiker:innen und Publikum musikalisch und verbal in den Bann zu ziehen. Seit 2008 prägt sie mit ihrer unverwechselbaren Handschrift als Künstlerische Leiterin, Dramaturgin und Konzertmeisterin das international agierende Orchester für Alte Musik Bern, Les Passions de l’Ame. Mit ihrem Orchester gastiert sie beim Lucerne Festival, den Tagen Alter Musik Regensburg, den Schwetzinger Festspielen oder beim Musikfest Stuttgart. Sie konzertiert mit Künstler:innen wie Dorothee Oberlinger, Simone Kermes, Kristian Bezuidenhout oder Nuria Rial.

Meret Lüthi erhielt ihre Ausbildung in ihrer Heimatstadt bei den Violinistinnen Monika Urbaniak-Lisik und Eva Zurbrügg und erlangte Lehr- und Konzertdiplom mit Auszeichnung. Das Studium des Streichquartetts führte sie nach Basel zu Walter Levin, bei Anton Steck in Trossingen studierte sie Barockvioline.

Als gefragte Spezialistin für Alte Musik ist Meret Lüthi regelmässig bei Radio SRF 2 Kultur zu Gast und doziert an der Hochschule der Künste Bern die Fächer Barockvioline und Historisch informierte Aufführungspraxis. 2017 wurde sie für ihr langjähriges und herausragendes musikalisches Wirken mit dem Musikpreis des Kantons Bern und 2020 mit dem Kulturpreis der Bürgi-Willert-Stiftung geehrt. Ihr künstlerisches Schaffen ist bei Sony Switzerland und Ramée dokumentiert und wurde zweimalig mit dem Diapason d’or sowie 2020 mit dem OPUS KLASSIK und dem Premio Abbiati ausgezeichnet.

Was die Presse schreibt:

Bachtrack (Jens Klier) 19.09.2020 

«...Lüthi [trat] bei der «Schutzengel»-Passacaglia aus den Rosenkranzsonaten in den kulminierend solistischen Höhepunkt. Mit ihren geschlossenen Augen und der ihrer Ensemblekollegen nahm sie uns alle mit ins Gebet, das in seiner meisterhaften Empfindung inneren Impulses, erschütternder Emotionalität und prächtiger Wunderkraft die Sinne vernebelte..»

Toccata (Wolfgang Reihing) Juli/August 2020

«Pulsierendes Zentrum dieser Aufnahme ist wieder einmal die Ensemble-Leiterin und Barockgeigerin Meret Lüthi, die hier mit kernigem Ton und sprühendem Temperament mühelos virtuose (weltliche) und spirituelle (geistliche) Aspekte dieser Musik miteinander verbindet.»

WDR3 (Jan Ritterstaedt) 21.07.2020

«Eindrucksvoll und mit grosser technischer Präzision lässt Solistin Meret Lüthi auf ihrer historischen Violine die Pfeile schwirren.»

BR Klassik (Thorsten Preuß) 15.09.2019

«Und sie [Meret Lüthi] ist die wahrscheinlich aufregendste Barockgeigerin der Gegenwart […] Wenn Meret Lüthi auf Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber trifft dann sprühen die Funken.»
Vollständiges Interview hier

SWR2 Zur Person: Meret Lüthi, 29.09.2019
«Meret Lüthi ist ein Kreativitätsjunkie, immer um den persönlichen Ausdruck ihrer Wahrheit ringend. Die Frontfrau des 2007 von ihr mitgegründeten Berner Barockensembles "Les Passions de l'Ame" zieht mit ihrem energetischen und frischen Schwung das Publikum in den Bann.»
Vollständige Sendung hier

Stuttgarter Nachrichten (Susanne Benda) 06.09.2018

«...Delikatessen aus der Feinkostabteilung der historisch informierten Aufführungspraxis: mit einer brillanten, ungemein klangsensibel und dazu eminent flinkfingrig spielenden Konzertmeisterin Meret Lüthi...»

kulturtipp (Christian Berzins) 20.08. 2014

„Die Geigerin Meret Lüthi ist der Kopf des famosen Berner Barockorchesters Les Passions de l’Ame, das für Furore sorgt. Sie erobert von Bern aus die weite Barockwelt..»